Komarom-Esztergom County trip planner

Create a fully customized
day by day itinerary for free

Budapest Itinerary Planner

+ Add destination
2 adults
- +
- +
- +

Komarom-Esztergom County

Sacred & Religious Sites · Monuments · History Museums
Komárom-Esztergom is an administrative Hungarian county in Central Transdanubia Region, on the northern border with Slovakia. It shares borders with the Hungarian counties of, and. Its county seat is Tatabánya.HistoryAfter World War I and the break-up of empires, the Hungarian Soviet Republic came to power in 1919, followed quickly by the Kingdom of Hungary. Komárom-Esztergom was created from the Hungarian parts of the pre-1918 counties and, formerly part of the Austro-Hungarian Empire.The pre-1918 situation was temporarily restored during World War II. Between 1950 and 1990, during the Communist regime, the county was called Komárom. Since the establishment of Hungary, it was named Komárom-Esztergom to refer to its historic past.DemographicsIn 2015, it had a population of 299,110 and the population density was 132/km².EthnicityHungarians constitute the majority of the population. The chief minorities are ethnic Germans (approx. 9,000), Roma (4,000) and Slovaks (3,000).
Customize your holiday with our Hungary trip planner to create an adventure that suits you.
Create a full itinerary — for free!

Plan your trip to Komarom-Esztergom County

  • Get a personalized trip
    A complete day by day itinerary
    based on your preferences
  • Customize it
    Refine your trip. We'll find the
    best routes and schedules
  • Book it
    Choose from the best hotels
    and activities. Up to 50% off
  • Manage it
    Everything in one place.
    Everyone on the same page.

Nature in Komarom-Esztergom County